Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Urban Planning vs. Urban Design, and other life-or-death questions

Registered
    Dec 2002

Urban Planning vs. Urban Design, and other life-or-death questions

Greetings, all-
    I pop up every once in a while around here, mostly incorrectly guessing cities and commenting on my hometown. This time I actually have a reason, and I know you all are very helpful with these sorts of things.

I'm currently in my third year of an undergraduate Public Policy degree here at William and Mary and have begun thinking about beginning to start to look at considering graduate schools.

I could probably use a stronger definition of the difference between the two, but Urban Design seems to interest me more than strict Planning. However, the research I've done seems to indicate that UD graduate schools tend to like undergrad degrees in architecture, which I don't have and won't get (W&M doesn't have a program). What's the difference, and how important is the undergrad degree?

Finally, for someone who wants to spend some time in a new place (i.e. away from VA), what are your suggestions for good graduate schools? My grades are only average right now, but they will hopefully be up by the time I graduate. Suggestions?

-Ben

Registered
    Dec 2003
    Hi Benk

I am an Urban Planner and have a lot of interest in Urban Design.
    Its better not to get confused between the two. There may be a thin line bet ween them but it depends.
    I think the whole approach to both are quite different.
    I would suggest that to make plans work its better to be an urban planner and then give adequate emphasis on the urabn design aspect.