Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Unsolicited Planning job recruitments?

Unfrozen Caveman Planner mendelman's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003

Unsolicited Planning job recruitments?

Has anyone here ever been recruited for a planning position, unsolicited?

Last week, I received a job description sheet and marketing materials from the City of Appleton, WI. I don't know how they got my name and why they chose me. The position is for a Senior Planner with at least 5 years experience with 2 of those years being managerial. I have 1 1/2 yrs experience. :-P

This is something very strange. Is this common?

Off-topic: BTW, I see that Appleton is near Lake Winnebago. What is this part of WI like? Not that I am interested in this position, but just a general interest.
    Last edited by mendelman; 11 Feb 2004 at 8:51 PM.
    I'm sorry. Is my bias showing?

Let's not be didactic in this profession, because that is a path to disillusion and irrelevancy.

Six seasons and a movie!

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Sometimes HR departments will buy the APA mailing list and send out a recruitment to all planners... we get them about once a week around here. It sounds like something similar happened to you.

I have had real headhunters call me though based upon word of mouth in the development community, which is pretty cool. Unfortunately they were crap job (which is why they probably had to hire a headhunter in the first place....)

Cyburbian Plus
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    I got the same mailing -
    because of our "favorite" intials after your name mailing list and what region I am in ?
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.