Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Just a short Job rant...

Registered
    Jun 2003

Just a short Job rant...

Sorry to do this, but I need someplace to vent right now. I'm a second year grad student, just about to graduate. As such, I'm playing the employment field, sending out as many apps as I can afford to each week. I'd say I've put out about 30-35 of them so far(I know that 100 is not uncommon before a position is offered). Not a great number I know, but enough to begin to get an idea. I like to think of myself as a reasonably inteligent, well written/approachable kind of guy. Is it that I'm over qualified for jobs I'm applying for? I'm generally looking at entry level(I'll have a masters soon) jobs to simply get experience in the field. I'm not really demanding a job offer simply from my resume as I know thats not reasonable, all I'm asking for is an interview. Hell, just a simple phone call would be good, I don't need to visit on site, as I know that is expensive. Haven't gotten a f**kin' thing. I don't ask for much in life. I live pretty simply actually, and all I want at this point is a job. It doesn't have to offer big money. Doesn't have to offer rapid advancement. Doesn't need an ounce of 'prestige' to it. I JUST WANT A JOB. Have I done something in a past life that karmicly screws me? I know that I probably shouldn't, but I'm starting to get really bitter about this whole affair.

Thanks for reading. Best of luck to all others out there looking.
    You're more boring than you know.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Three factors may be in play here, each of which you may have already considered. If not, read on:

1) Did you have a summer internship related to planning? If not, maybe that's why you are being overlooked. If you didn't have an internship, then #2 becomes even more important...