Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Volunteer work

Registered
    Jul 2002

Volunteer work

AIB Budgie..

Here's a chance to discuss volunteer work you have done in your community. This is NOT a competition, but rather a chance to learn a bit more about, and maybe be inspired by, some of your fellow Cyburbanites.

So, what volunteer work have you done? And/or, what are you thinking of doing?

I am new to it myself but found I really enjoyed being a volunteer marshall at a women's triathlon recently. I am thinking of becoming a Youthline counsellor which is basically being a telephone counsellor for young people to call when they need someone to talk to about problems/issues/worries, and act as a point of referral to other services if necessary. Shifts are only 2.5 hours 3x a month in the evening. 10 weeks of training though!

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I havent done anything lately, but in the recent past I have done warehouse work for a local food pantry, have volunteered for the local chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis foundation staffing events, and did some fund raising for the AIDS Resource Center.

Registered
    May 1997
    We are currently serving as foster parents for an extremely neurotic cat for the Feral Cat Foundation. Having just cleaned up another "expression" of his issues, I am not sure I'd recommend this job.

The best time of our lives was last summer's volunteer work: taking 45 days to serve as wilderness rangers in an area of national forest that would otherwise have had virtually no Forest Service presence all summer.

Over the last several years I have had several opportunities to volunteer in my community. Among them are:
    • Serving as a team leader to raise money and build a handicap accessible playground
    • Serving on the local YMCA Board and as Chairman 1 year
    • Serving on the local school district's education foundation, currently serving as treasurer