Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: A career in planning?

     
    Registered
    Mar 2004

A career in planning?

Hello everybody!

As a Geography student I enjoyed researching and reading about issues in urban development or planning. But as a student my written English has badly let me down in the past. My disseration was full errors in grammer and the structure was weak. I'm dslexic and I wish to pursue a career in planning and i feel nervous as some of my acadmics were wary of my English! Furthermore I've been told that planning is very much based on written commcation.

what do you think?

andrew

Registered
    Jul 2003
    I homeschool my gifted-learning disabled kids. Dyslexia is not one of the things we deal with. But: have you heard of a book called "The Gift of Dyslexia"? People with dyslexia and certain other "handicaps" of that sort have brains that are simply wired differently. They literally and figuratively have a different view of the world. If their differences are honored and respected and the obstacles dealt with in a practical manner, I see no reason why you can't go into any field you love. You may have to be creative and open-minded about the exact job you end up doing. But the world needs that "different view" on things -- sometimes that is the only view that can save a situation.

You might want to surf my homeschooling website: Michele's World of (Twice) Exceptional Homeschooling This may not be the right forum for your question. You may need to seek out people with expertise in how to live successfully with handicaps rather than people who have "conventional" success. Another source of inspiration might be EASI: Equal Access to Software and Information, run by a guy who works full time as a college professor and promotes internet access for handicapped people in his "spare time". He also happens to be blind, which makes him highly qualified to advocate for visually and otherwise impaired people.