Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Advice on choosing schools needed

     
    Registered
    Mar 2004

Advice on choosing schools needed

I need to come to a decision about graduate programs in planning over the next few weeks, and I'm seeking some advice. I'm in my 30s, and I've spent the last 12 years working in inv't banking and real estate finance throughout Europe and Asia. I did my undergraduate degree in urban studies and architecture, and it's been my dream to go back to do a graduate degree in planning since then. I'm interested in international/planning consulting work, with a strong component in urban design/site planning (my research interests lie on the urban/rural fringe and with special consideration for trans-border conurbations -- I grew up on the US-Mexican border). I may at some point go back to real estate development in this context.

I've been admitted to the MUP program at Harvard GSD, which has a physical planning/urban design and real estate emphasis as well as competencies in both regional planning and international. I'm also hoping to get into MIT (City Design & Development specialization), where, if I go, I may pursue a somewhat superfluous graduate degree concurrently, in real estate. I've also applied to UC Berkeley, but I did not follow their recommendations on degrees so I may not get admitted. Berkeley also had the earliest deadline and the design portfolio I submitted there was less developed than those I sent to GSD and MIT. They said they'll notify me on or about 3/29.