Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: one factor in hiring?

Registered
    Mar 2004

one factor in hiring?

hello all.

my name is jasmine, by the way, and no, i am not an urban planner--yet. at the moment, i am mostly an enthusiast and an observer, and i amhighly fascinated with urban development. i am a designer (industrial/graphic/architectural) by trade and work in advertising and marketing and commercial art fields.

anyway, here's my question. as much as the big bosses in all the places that i've worked for don't want to admit it, they do take into consideration the "image" factor. and i am not exaggerating that almost every single one of my co-workers in the advertising and marketing field, as quoted by a friend, looks like they "stepped out of a benetton ad". and it's perfectly understandable, because advertising and marketing is image and brand driven. it's unfair, but hey, it happens. but i've also noticed this in the architecture firms i have collaborated with, the city, and etc...and i'm not the only one who notices this of course. now, i was wondering if this "looks" bias is taken into consideration in the fields of urban planning as well. i'm assuming it does.

just a curiosity. have a nice day!

Registered
    Feb 2000

My initial thoughts.

Welcome to Cyburbia, you have been assimulated into the "Throbbing Brain".