Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: ?'s re: joint degrees (Public Policy / Urban Planning)

Registered
    Apr 2004

?'s re: joint degrees (Public Policy / Urban Planning)

I am planning on going to grad school in the fall of 2005. Though I was originally leaning towards Public Policy (I studied history in undergrad and was always thinking of going to law school), my curiosity has been piqued by Urban Planning.

Is it possible to weave these two disciplines together? Ultimately, I would like to live overseas and combine these two foci, possibly providing a platform to help others build in eco / community-friendly ways.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by 2020planner; 18 Apr 2004 at 5:30 PM. Reason: spelling

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Sure it is possible. I have an undergrad degree in public administration and a grad in geography (planning/economic development focus). Many smaller communities require you to fill more than the role of planner. The more diverse your background, the better off you are.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

     
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    I'm getting a BS in Urban Policy Studies with a concentration in Planning and Economic Development.

So yes, they can be mixed.

P.S. I go to Georgia State University and the Policy Studies is under the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies. I've heard it has a great grad program. Plus, Atlanta is a great city!

Come on down!

Registered
    Feb 2000
    My BA was with a duel major in Economics and Geography.

Registered
    Apr 2004
    thanks for the replies, and thanks Elizabeth for the offer to visit Georgia!

what i am really curious about is how often people create their program with their own emphasis, but my intuition tells me this is probably more contingent on the school than the student

moderator in moderation Suburb Repairman's avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2003