Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: internships/experience?

Registered
    May 2004

internships/experience?

i was just wondering what kind of qualifications are necessary to work in a planning office. i was thinking of getting an internship (i.e. volunteering) at a office just to get some experience and exposure to the day-to-day planning work before i even think of applying to grad school. i' won't be done with school until december '04, and my major is ethnic studies, but i have taken several environmental design courses and a city planning course.

what do you think i should do to pursue this course of action? i'm thinking that since i won't cost anything, people shouldn't mind too much that i'm hanging around the office, but i don't know... it seems there's a lot of politics within these offices (my observation from lurking on the forum).

NIMBY asshatterer Plus Richmond Jake's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2001
    If you're considering a career in this profession (or any profession, for that matter), an internship looks good on a resume--I know it helped me in landing my first paying job.
    What would RJ do?

Internships are great and the sooner you get one the better. I got an internship while in grad school and I had no planning experience whatsoever. The internship taught me so much more than any class would. Usually they pay crappy, but donít let that detract you. Often internships can turn into a full-time gig upon graduation. In addition you will likely make all kinds of contacts in the field, which will definitely help your job prospects later on.
    "I'm a white male, age 18 to 49. Everyone listens to me, no matter how dumb my suggestions are."

- Homer Simpson

Registered
    Mar 2002
    There is IMHO nothing more valuable than an internship. You can take every class in the book and they cant teach you how to be a planner or what its like-get out there and get your hands dirty.

Good luck!