Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: policy & design

Registered
    May 2004

policy & design

I'm planning on starting a Masters program in Fall 2005 (hopefully at Berkeley, but we'll see). My professional life to date has really prepared me for the policy aspects of planning, particularly with economic and community development. However, I have a deep interest in architecture and urban design, though I have no formal design background. I would like to work as an urban designer when I'm finished school -- how realistic an expectation is this? Considering my strong policy background, should I just build on that rather than switching focus? The programs I'm applying to: UC Berkeley, UCLA, University of Washington/Seattle and University of British Columbia/Vancouver--all have urban design components to their planning programs, so as far as my schooling goes I can certainly work at the intersection of policy/design, but in the professional world, is such a synthesis possible or do jobs tend to require one or the other?

Registered
    Mar 2004

Stuck

Quote Originally posted by khan wong