Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Switching to planning, mid-career.

     
    Registered
    Apr 2004

Switching to planning, mid-career.

this question may seem silly at first but here it goes: at what point did everyone know that they wanted to take the plunge and study urban planning/policy studies/urban design? if anyone has switched to planning mid-career i would really be interested in the motivations or the overall experience. was it what you expected?

some background on me: i have been in my current career for 6 years; i have a computer science degree that has served me well and i have a good position with a company here in detroit. last year, i took one semester of master's-level urban planning classes and i really liked it. i have always been interested in planning-related topics (especially sprawl, transit and traditional neighborhood design) and continue to study planning at home, on my own time. i guess i am scared to jump full-on into planning, considering my current situation is comfortable, if not 100% fulfilling. maybe i don't know enough about what "a day in the life of a planner" is really like. maybe i don't want to deal with the challenges of jumping into something that is so foreign from what i do now. and i certainly don't want to invest so much in school until i get my head straight!

any insight appreciated. thanks all! d.

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator NHPlanner's avatar
    Registered
    Apr 1996
    Try this thread for some of our "typical" days:

http://www.cyburbia.org/forums/showthread.php?t=5731
    "Growth is inevitable and desirable, but destruction of community character is not. The question is not whether your part of the world is going to change. The question is how." -- Edward T. McMahon, The Conservation Fund

Registered
    Nov 2002
    Aside from immersion in these forums (All Hail Our Great Leader!), another good way to learn more about what planners do is to meet some in your area.