Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Requesting information on environmental planning as a career

Registered
    Oct 2004

Requesting information on environmental planning as a career

Hi all!

What I great site, Iím very glad I found it. I hope that some of you would take the time to read my post and share your wisdom and experience with me, it would be greatly appreciated.

A little bit about me; Iím 33 and in the process of changing careers. For about 8 years I was in property management, where I over saw apartment complexes from 200-400 units. Most of my job was managing a large and diverse staff, forecasting future growth, budgeting and conflict resolution between residents, and our office and the residents during the eviction process.

Last year I graduated with a Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies, with concentrations in Political Science and Communication. In May I will graduate with a Master of Natural Resources Law Studies from the University of Denver College of Law. Essentially this is an advanced law degree (like the LLM) but a few none JD students are allowed to take the program each year. My concentration areas are Public Land law and Water Law. Some of the classes I have taken are Public Land Law and Policy, Natural Resource law and Policy, Water Resource Management Law, Ocean and Coastal Law and Policy. Next semester I will take Administrative Law, Land Transaction Law and Environmental law, with an elective left over. As you can imagine we have covered APA, NEPA, FLPMA, Clean Air and Water among others extensively.

My original intent was to continue on to law school, and focus in Natural Resource law, but that has recently changed. The more I learn about the role of lawyers in this field, the less I want to be one. I really enjoy working on things at the evolution stage, of making a real difference, rather than nitpicking plans apart at the NEAP level just to delay them, rather than making a substantive change.