Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: The Where Were You When Kennedy Was Shot Thread

Cyburbian Emeritus Bear Up North's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003

The Where Were You When Kennedy Was Shot Thread

Most non-geek and somewhat sane folks can remember what they were doing when a big historical event happened. Cyburbians do, too.

KENNEDY SHOT
    I was a sophomore in high school. The announcement came over the PA system that President Kennedy was shot. The teacher who was in charge of the study hall I was sitting in said, "Good." They let us out of school early and most of the girls on the bus were crying.

MARTIN LUTHER KING SHOT
    I went to Findlay, OH, on a blind date. On the way back to Toledo, the high-beam light switch located on my floor of my 1962 Plymouth Valiant started on fire. I had to pull into a gas station in North Baltimore, OH, and heard the announcement about the shooting of Martin Luther King. Strange coincidence.....the girl who set me up for this blind date was in Memphis, marching with the garbage workers who were on strike.

BOBBY KENNEDY SHOT
    I was working at a lumber yard, often into the late night, because during the day I was going to school. I heard the news while listening to the radio while stacking lumber.

9-11
    I was in my office and my wife called and asked if I heard about the plane that hit one (1) of the Twin Towers. As she was talking, the second plane hit the second tower.

Bear Not Gump
    Occupy Cyburbia!

Registered
    Oct 2003
    Well, I wasn't even alive for any of those "remember where you were" moments except for the last one.