Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Dual degrees? [was: Silly question...]

Dual degrees? [was: Silly question...]

Say someone was considering a dual Bachelor's and dual Master's from the same university.

Is there any disadvantage to having all your degrees from one school? Does an employer even care?

(It's just easier that way and it cuts down on dublicate course work ... also all your credits are ensured to transfer )

Moderator note:
    Thread Title Clarified.

-Chet

Part II

What I'm really looking for is a M.B.A. + M.S.P. dual degree which can be completed in under three years. I'm a good student, I have glorified references from 70-year old professors ready to croak, I'm studying for the GMAT, but i'll have zero work experience outside of a part-time job.

I'm currently at Florida state which has an excellent planning program, but the MBA program... let's just say it's not so excellent. However, it does have it's appeal considering the reasonably priced in-state graduate tuition.

Registered
    Feb 2005
    I've heard that it's better to get your graduate degree from a different school than you undergrad because you WILL have repeat coursework at the same school. It depends on where you go and what the programs entail but diversity is a good thing as far as I'm concerned.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I see no problem with getting a bachelors and masters from the same university. I would strongly recommend against continuing for a PhD at the same university.

There is much you can learn by going on to higher levels at the same university, and for some, an advantage in advanced courses relating more closely to introductory ones, and in a common theme within the department. As an employer, I could care less about whether your degrees are from the same university, or for that matter, which university you went to.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Registered
    Jan 2005

Planner Girl in Nor.Cal

Quote Originally posted by OfficialPlanner