Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Parsing public agency job postings

     
    Registered
    Jun 2004

Parsing public agency job postings

I'm a planning student trying to get a sense of what opportunities are out there...

I'm sure this can vary substantially by geographic area and agency, but I'm really curious to know how the salary and experience ranges listed on public agency job ads relate to the salary and experience of the person who actually gets hired.

I ask this because I've seen some ads for senior planner positions in California with salary ranges of like 85-110k, with a minimum experience requirement of only four years!

In your experience, do candidates with only the minimum experience actually have a shot at most public sector planning jobs?

Registered
    Mar 2004

No

Quote Originally posted by peligro
    I'm a planning student trying to get a sense of what opportunities are out there...

I'm sure this can vary substantially by geographic area and agency, but I'm really curious to know how the salary and experience ranges listed on public agency job ads relate to the salary and experience of the person who actually gets hired.

I ask this because I've seen some ads for senior planner positions in California with salary ranges of like 85-110k, with a minimum experience requirement of only four years!

In your experience, do candidates with only the minimum experience actually have a shot at most public sector planning jobs?
    I would say NO......
    Skilled Adoxographer

Registered
    Feb 2003
    Quote Originally posted by The One
    I would say NO......
    I agree. They really like more than the minimum requirements.

Registered
    Jan 2005