Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: The State Of American Manufacturing

Cyburbian Emeritus Bear Up North's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003

The State Of American Manufacturing

In the news the other day was the CEO of General Motors, frankly admitting that if conditions do not improve for his company then Pontiac or Buick may be eliminated. No suprise if you follow this sort of thing.

Here are some of my observations on "the state of American manufacturing". Many of you are significantly younger than this 56-year old coot and chances are you have had limited exposure to any manufacturing plants or processes.

The 1960's
    After I graduated from high school and before I wandered off to university I spent some time living in Chicago, with a friend who was going to school there. When we would cruise the streets of the metro we would see hundreds of signs in front of manufacturing plants advertising for "help wanted". I remember cruising past a Sunbeam plant and the sign had about twenty (20) different jobs listed.

Inside that plant.....and most American plants.....most of what was being made was done internally, almost from scratch. A garage door, a refrigerator, a transmission.....all of these were made from stamped and cast materials, usually metal. Giant stamping machines would do a "flywheel dance" and punch out a metal hinge or a door panel or a metal clip that was part of the inside of a medical machine.

The 1990's & After
    Because of the size of many products......garage doors, refrigerators, lawn mowers.....many products are still assembled in the USA. Some of the larger parts, such as larger metal stampings, are still done stateside. But many of the internal "stuff" that helps to make all of the things we use is now plastic, usually poured into a mold in a city in China or Japan or Sri Lanka.

Productivity