Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Road diets and impact analysis

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2003

Road diets and impact analysis

I'm a student with two projects cooking and I'm looking for information on them.

I'm helping write a term paper on "road diets", retrofitting/re-designing streets with lane reductions, sidewalk extensions, etc. and I'm looking for case studies or people's anecdotal experiences with them. Are do the number of accidents/fatalities go down after a these projects are completed? Or maybe crash numbers go up, but intensities go down (fender-benders vs. pile-ups)? Do bike/ped counts generally go up?

Also, I'm doing a fiscal impact analysis for a county looking at how projected population, land-use, etc. will impact the demand for transportation and fire services? Is there any national standard or average ratio of firefighters to people? 5 firefighters per 10,000 people, etc.? I'm also looking for costs of average fire engines and firefighter's salaries.

I appreciate any and all thoughts.

The only person that I have heard talk with authority about road diets is Dan Burden. They are an idea that many people seem to be interested in, especially when you talk about roads through neighborhoods and communities. At the same time, you get a lot of resistance from public works crews and in many cases DOT. You might see if you can get a conversation with Dan. My understanding is that he is pretty good about getting back to people if you send him a message or call.

Walkable Communities

Registered
    Oct 2001
    If you have a way of posting your final product on-line, I'd love to see your finished report. Monster roads are one of my biggest pet peeves.