Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Schools with a Concentration on International Development/Planning?

Registered
    Jun 2005

Schools with a Concentration on International Development/Planning?

Hello everyone,

Thanks for the great information I've already found on this forum. I'm a student at the University of Cape Town in South Africa doing a double major in Politics (with a focus on international/comparative politics) and Public Policy and Administration (this programme has a focus on urban development and administration). I'll be graduating in December and will be applying to schools in the states for fall, 2006 admissions.

I am most interested in Urban Planning programmes that are more focused on public policy rather then design, as they fit better with my undergraduate degree. That being said, I don't mind some design techniques/theory, as I'm sure it will be beneficial for a future career in planning. A major prerequisite is that the school must offer a concentration in international planning, and preferably with a focus on planning in developing countries (I am most interested in urban planning and development in sub-Saharan Africa).

So far, I am considering applying to the master's programmes at MIT, NYU, Cornell, and UPenn. I'm sure there are others in the states, but I'd prefer to be on the east coast. I'd also prefer to be in a major city, so will only consider Cornell really as a last resort, unless anyone can give me a compelling reason otherwise. Am I missing any schools that I should apply to? Thoughts on any of these schools, their programmes, and how they compare to one another? Thanks for any advice!!

Registered
    Mar 2004
    I seem to remember that as an Undergrad, we were able to take coursework at our sister school a few miles down the road and over the bridge.