Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Adaptive reuse for barn preservation

Registered
    Jul 2005

Adaptive reuse for barn preservation

New to the boards, so hello. I am collecting info on barn preservation through adaptive reuse (e.g. conversion to residential, commercial, etc.) I have found some info on the net, but I would like to chat with a real, live planner that has worked on something like this. Thanks

Will

I am not experienced directly with barn preservation, although I am a professional preservationist and my old garage is lovingly referred to as *The Barn*. Nonetheless, your on-line searches should include BarnAgain! and Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana's website as they are big into barn and farm preservation.

I am more than happy to try to answer any questions about preservation (technical or regulatory) that you may have.
    Je suis Charlie

Registered
    Mar 2002
    Quote Originally posted by ibbieta
    New to the boards, so hello. I am collecting info on barn preservation through adaptive reuse (e.g. conversion to residential, commercial, etc.) I have found some info on the net, but I would like to chat with a real, live planner that has worked on something like this. Thanks

Will
    The Barns at Wolftrap in Vienna Virginia is two old barns that were moved to the site and are used for performances. From their website (http://www.wolftrap.org/performances/barnsfacts.html ):

"Made up of two adjacent 18th century barns, The Barns were a gift from Wolf Trap's founder, Catherine Filene Shouse. Impressed by the acoustical quality of the wooden barn after attending a concert in one in Maine, she wanted to bring the same informal and acoustical setting to Wolf Trap.