Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Real Working Graduate Students

Registered
    Apr 2003
    Someplace between yesterday and tomorrow.

Real Working Graduate Students

This is more of a question of culture than of school. I have been working full time as a planner for about three years now, and I about to start my second semester as a Grad Student at a local university. Because I work full time and take full time classes, I often wonder how to best balance the whole student culture such as going to sports games, parties, campus events, and meeting up with friends for a few cold ones after class, with the “real world” work place where I am up early, work a typical 8-5 mostly with people at least 8 years older than I am. It does not help much that I live in an area a good distance from other students.

If your in the same, how to you balance both so you can live life to the fullest, fully experience and be active in both cultures, while keeping your sanity?
    Not my monkey, not my circus. - Old Polish Proverb

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2001