Urban planning community

Closed thread

Thread: bikeway dreams

     
    Registered
    Aug 2005

bikeway dreams

I am a new member to Cyburbia. I joined because I want to get some feedback or advice from any professionals out there. I am a recent graduate (Fall 2004) in landscape architecture and now work for a firm in Sacramento. I am learning a wealth of information in planning and becoming an expert in CAD and photoshop, which is good. My firm works mostly on planning and designing communities (subdivisions) with some parks, cemeteries, and streetscapes thrown in. I feel as though I am contributing to sprawl when I work on these subdivisions and it is not the work I have a passion for. I have a passion for creating livable and walkable cities with an emphasis on connecting these cities with trails and bikeways. I am taking a GIS class at night at a local college here and I am debating on going back to get my masters in urban design. Does anyone out there have any good advice or share the same interests?

Registered
    Mar 2002
    Welcome! Hope others can give you the info you need.
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Ben Franklin

Remember this motto to live by: "Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, martini in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming 'WOO- HOO what a ride!'"

moderator in moderation Suburb Repairman's avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    Welcome from slightly north of the Alamo City!

I've thought of shifting my career focus toward design to create these neighborhoods. In my ideal, perfect world, I am independently wealthy and can sink gobs of money into designing my dream neighborhood (city really) without regard for profits. Alas, I work for the government...