Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Undergraduate internships?

Undergraduate internships?

I am an undergraduate at Pace University in New York City. Pace does not offer a program in planning or urban studies but I would like to get some experience under my belt before going on to grad school. What would yall recommend as far as undergrad internships to get a foot in the door in the planning/design field, especially in NYC?

Aug 2001
    The Cheese State
    I have used undergrad interns from time to time. To be honest, I have not found them to be particularly helpful (sorry) and I know many of my associates feel the same way. I also know of very few undergrad internships that offer pay, but most will provide college course credit. My best advice would be to focus in on a particular interest or skill that you have, then try to sell yourself with that. For instance, if you are good with GIS, you might approach several potential internship providers and express an interest in working with their GIS systems to gain experience. You will find somebody with a project that they do not have the people or time to complete, and you could be their solution.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Mar 2004
    Where Valley Fever Lives
    Blog entries

Pick a grad school....

Then contact their internship advisor....you may need to enroll for a class to get the intern through the school, but that's a good thing......register as a non degree seeking student first, get the internship....then become a degree seeking student....

SO why the uncompahgre name? Is that your favorite mountain??? Z-man you climbed this one...I haven't yet.....but I hear its fairly easy from the nearby pass (mechanics pass??? 13,000 feet) Or do you just like skiing at Powderhorn and hanging out in the national forest of the same name??