Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Poll: How many night meetings do you have per week?

Poll: How many night meetings do you have per week?

I'm getting to the point at my private sector position where I'll probably have 5-6 night meetings in a typical month. Just curious about what other people, especially people in the private sector, experience on their end (so that I have some basis for feeling that attendance is reasonable or unreasonable).

As an aside, I'm presently weighing a public sector opportunity, and this is a factor (given that the salaries aren't dramatically different). Thanks!

NIMBY asshatterer Plus Richmond Jake's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2001
    I work in the public sector. My experience is this: generally speaking, counties have day meetings while cities have night meetings. I much prefer counties because those city night meetings cut into my cocktail hour(s).

Registered
    Jul 2002
    I'm in the private sector, and my experience with night meetings varies. There are periods when I have 2-3 night meetings a week, and then stretches when I have none at all.

I'd say I average 3-4 night meetings a month.

Registered
    Dec 2003
    I'm a member of the public, so I prefer night meetings because I work during the day and can't make it to day meetings.

That aside, I have a friend in the private sector that said he has a night meeting every day (I'm assuming he didn't mean weekends) till mid September. They're presenting the conversion plans for a 1920s Sears distribution center of over 1,000,000 sf into a mixed use community. With a project that size, there are lots and lots of stakeholders to meet with and most of them work during the day.

For the curious, the project has a website: http://www.poncepark.com