Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Admissions...

Admissions...

Hey all,

I am new to this board and have been sifting through some past posts to get a feel of the different grad programs. I am applying for programs this fall and am sifting through what makes sense.

Right now, my top choices are: Columbia, NYU, Tufts, MIT, USC, Berkeley, and UPenn.

Is anyone in any of those programs right now? My top choice is Columbia.

I am not necessarily a strong artist...and am wondering if Columbia or some of the others require this. Also, I took economics in college but really didn't do that wonderfully...do you think it makes sense to re-take it? Or is this something one can cover once in grad school.

Also, what have you experienced is the most important in the application? I have a decent GPA and have yet to take the GREs. Do you know what average scores/GPA are?

I have some experience...have been working for a real estate developer for over a year, have an organization devoted to urban revitalization, and did the career discovery program this summer.

Thanks in advance!

Registered
    Mar 2005

columbia questions

hey, i'm in the columbia program - i just started about a month ago and just to answer a few of your questions:

- it is helpful to have an artistic background but totally unnecessary - you would do fine in the program without one...many people do not

- i did not do very well in the one and only econ course i took before i came here