Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Small town with no planning staff

Registered
    Sep 2005

Small town with no planning staff

Are there any other citizen planners out there who function without a professional staff? I am a professional planner employed by a city in which I do not live, but am also the Chair of my planning board. The issue we have is that with no professional staff it is difficult to address any issues related to application completeness or really anything at all outside of our official meetings. I do not have the time or energy to serve as planning staff to my own board. I would love to hear from any others who have experience with staff-deprived boards as to how to get things done in a timely manner.

Thanks!!!

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator NHPlanner's avatar
    Registered
    Apr 1996
    There are plenty of towns in NH that do not have professional staff. Most of these get professional planning services of a circuit rider planner from a regional planning commission. I don't know if NY has a similar option.
    "Growth is inevitable and desirable, but destruction of community character is not. The question is not whether your part of the world is going to change. The question is how." -- Edward T. McMahon, The Conservation Fund

Registered
    Sep 2005
    Quote Originally posted by NHPlanner
    There are plenty of towns in NH that do not have professional staff. Most of these get professional planning services of a circuit rider planner from a regional planning commission. I don't know if NY has a similar option.
    Not that I know of. We do occasionally pay an engineering firm to review very complex applications, but that gets expensive and applicants really complain about the cost.

Do the NH towns pay for the circuit rider services?

Registered
    Nov 2002