Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: University of Colorado Denver progress report

Registered
    Oct 2005

University of Colorado Denver progress report

I am new to Cyburbia and as I mentioned in my introduction I am excited to pick your brains. Thanks in advance for any info you can provide and apologies upfront if this subject has already been addressed.

Although I would like to work internationally for a while, I am not ready to take the dive into a pile of debt with the hopes that such a job is waiting for me on the other side (MIT etc. - assuming I could even get accepted in the first place ). Therefore, I'm looking closer to home and at a much lower price tag. I live in Denver and like the idea of in-state tuition, but am having a hard time placing the quality of the education I will receive from UCD relative to other programs such as PSU (I have an interest in sustainable development). I am looking into the MURP/MPA dual degree program and seeking insight from anyone who is familiar with the current professors and the program in general. Is the program in decline or on the upswing? Along the same lines, does anyone know of key professors that may be on the verge of retirement? Is UCD in the "respected" category in the planning community?

CommonGood

Registered
    May 2005