Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Graduate program in brownfields?

Registered
    Jul 2003

Graduate program in brownfields?

Hi All,

I'm back to the boards from a year-long hiatus with a pretty specific question:

I'm thinking about Grad school sometime in the near future, and am thinking that I'd like to come out of it heading toward a job in infill / brownfield redevelopment (ideally perhaps starting off on my own with small projects). I know its dreaming, but you've got to start somewhere! A degree specifically in brownfields would be best, but perhaps there is a similar degree somewhere that would do me right?

I have an undergrad degree in Planning from a fine American university, so I should be all set with the basic concepts, but the skills I do need would be related to finance, real estate, market studies, construction process, perhaps a little more design, and maybe some environmental science.

Anybody know of a university with any such program, or even a reasonable facsimile? Location is not a limiting factor...

Many Thanks!

Registered
    Oct 2005
    Check out Harvard's Design School, specifically, the Landscape Architecture department. The chair is Niall Kirkwood, who has done significant work in brownfields and landfill redevelopment. He edited the book, Manufactured Sites, about reusing industrial landscapes, which I used for one of my historic landscape projects.

Good Luck!

     
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Hi,

Clark in Worcester- the CDP planning program in the IDCE department. If you want brownfields, worcester has nearly 400 ripe and ready for you to study.

best,

stephen

     
    Registered
    Jun 2005

Location is key

Location is key. Go to a school that was/is in a major manufacturing area. Massachusetts is full of them, but anywhere in the Rust Belt is going to give you what you want: Michigan, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, some parts of Ohio, etc.

Registered
    Oct 2005

UW-Milwaukee