Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How can I get a planning internship?

I live in an area that is growing rapidly (the southern part of Santa Clara County in CA) and planning seems like a facinating profession to me. I have looked at the websites for several cities in my area and most of them have openings for planners. My friend is an urban planner and he showed me what he does. However I have a degree in History with no planning experience (I'm 25 years old). I was wondering if getting an internship would be the best and most viable way to break into this profession, and how I could get one. Should I contact the planning divisions in these cities directly and ask if they have any internship offerings? Will they ask what my experience is and why I want to become a planner? Are the internships usually paid or unpaid?

Thanks for any advice, I really appreciate it.

Please, I need help guys...anyone have advice?
    Last edited by NHPlanner; 01 Nov 2005 at 3:51 PM.

Cyburbian Plus
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    Usually internships are tied in with a student working toward their degree.

An internship can be paid or unpaid depending on at least two factors -
    dept budget and their organizational/cultural structure toward having interns.

Internship wages are usually low w/o benefits and work less than half time, again oriented toward a student.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.
    From Electric Horseman (1979)

Quote Originally posted by JNA
    Usually internships are tied in with a student working toward their degree.

An internship can be paid or unpaid depending on at least two factors -