Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: another lawyer bent on planning seeks advice

another lawyer bent on planning seeks advice

I'm an attorney exploring more self-satisfying career routes. One field attracting my interest at present is planning. I discovered Cyburbia forums for the first time today and spent some time scanning the threads. After a somewhat cursory examination, I am confident even as a newbie that the professionals and pseudo-professionals who post here have ample knowledge and wisdom to reply to my thread in a thoughtful fashion. I have a certificate of concentration in Envt'l Law and have accumulated some experience doing legal consulting for school districts challenging CEQA actions and interagency levy assessments and also private plaintiffs challenging redevelopment agency actions. My career experience is mainly in H.R./administration but I have gathered a number of interesting other career experiences such as webmaster, copy-editor, compliance officer, etc. My B.A. is in political science with a healthy science/math component.

I take a strong interest in politics and the rules governing municipal, county, special district, and state decision-making. I understand that the best route to an entry-level planning position is a B.A. in Geography/Architecture/Civil engineering followed by a masters in planning and passing an examination. I have a few questions:

(1) what route to further academic credentials might I pursue that would make me more competitive in the marketplace and that would occupy a short time-frame (a year or less) without having to go all the way back and earn another B.A.?