Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Urban Design for the Non-Designer

Registered
    Nov 2005

Urban Design for the Non-Designer

Let me say first that reading the various threads on Cyburbia has been very helpful in informing my decision to matriculate next fall and i'd like to thank some of the grizzled veterans that seem to be omnipresent on the site...you know who you are.

My quandry is as such: I am currently a film editor. I have worked in fashion photography as an art director and I have designed and built several small but creative construction projects (artist studio, treehouses, small business, bar, etc.) In addition I was an art history major as an undergrad and I feel as though that while I do not possess a traditional design background, my aesthetic eye has developed holistically and via interdiscipilnary pursuits. That said I'm looking to get a masters in urban planning with a strong urban design emphasis. I've searched through many school curriculums and have found mostly post-professional urban design programs. I need a school that is willing to nurture the unpolished designer within me, without requiring a previously held design oriented masters. Where can this be accomlished? The university of Michigan seems to have the closet coupling of Urban Planning and Urban Design programs, but I spent 4 tremendous years in Ann Arbor as an undergrad and would prefer a new locale. My ultimate goal is to eventually add on some study in real estate development and finance and see what the world of sustainable/green construction/development has in store for me. That's me and I welcome any advice that can be imparted by those of you in the know. The question can be approached from a couple of angles: What schools/programs should I be looking at? Is there an alternate path to this ultimate goal of mine? My list if schools currently are: Cal Berkeley, MIT, UPENN, Harvard, University of Washington, and University of Michigan.