Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Writing sample - what to submit?

Registered
    Aug 2005

Writing sample - what to submit?

i've heard tell that it is sometimes beneficial to submit a writing sample with one's resume. seeing that i am a graduate student with little "real" planning experience what should i or could i submit as a writing sample?

a paper i've submitted for a class?
    the "plan" we wrote for our hypothetical city?

suggestions are welcome and needed!!
    In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. -Martin Luther King Jr.

Registered
    Jan 2005
    I think it would entirely depend on the sort of job you were applying for. It might also be useful to ask if they want it - some folks can get very put off by breaking the mould of their precious standardized applications.

Registered
    Sep 2001
    Only supply one if requested. In reviewing resumes and cover letters, you are looking for specific items, a writing sample does nothing if it is not the review list.

If one is requested choose something that is relevant to the job. I would probably submit a portion of the Plan you have or any report style writing assignments. And make sure they are clean copies.
    Too lazy to beat myself up for being to lazy to beat myself up for being too lazy to... well you get the point....

Registered
    Dec 2001
    I look for any memo your particular proud of.

It should note case details and easy to understand. Try to find something that required you to interpret or research to offer a sound staff recommendation.

Sometimes, text amendments are good memos.

I had a class where we developed a plan for an area completely based upon soil types. So, something like that if not too long may be a good choice for submittal.
    Dude, I'm cheesing so hard right now.

Registered
    Aug 2002
    Don't forget to proofread and spell-check. You'd be surprised how many people neglect to do that.

Registered