Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: How Big Was Your High School?

Cyburbian Emeritus Bear Up North's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003

How Big Was Your High School?

This Bear is doing some research (for my fake city) on the student population size of high schools. I have done a lot of bouncing around on the internet, looking through web sites from Boston to Los Angeles, from Miami to Houston, from Philadelphia to Minneapolis, etc.

Some of these places have high schools with student populations in the 3000+ range. Now that's a big school!

When I graduated from Whitmer High School (Toledo, OH) back in 1966, my graduation class was over six-hundred (600). Two (2) years later, my younger brother's graduation class was almost one-thousand (1000). (Can you say "baby boomer"?)

Whitmer was a 3-grade building.....fed by two (2) Junior High Schools. Thus, Whitmer's 4-grade size when I graduated would be about 2500. In my research, there seem to be more 4-grade schools. In the stats that I have compiled for my fake city I think I have too many high school students and I plan on correcting my error.

That adventure in research and stat correction got me to thinking.....how big was the high school that the average Cyburbian attended?

What say you? How big was your school?

Very-related: Studies indicate that smaller schools are better at educating. Is that your experience? Is that your view?

What say you?

Panther Bear
    Occupy Cyburbia!

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I think there were about 105 students in my HS graduating class.
    Annoyingly insensitive

Registered
    Feb 2005
    I graduated with 124 students

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    We had about 300 in my graduating class of 1987

Registered
    Aug 2001