Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Dual MBA/planning degrees

Registered
    Jan 2006

Dual MBA/planning degrees

I am currently waiting to hear from several different schools regarding applications for dual degree programs in business and planning. I have been working for several years at a small architecture/RE development firm in DC and would like to work as a project manager or for some quasi-governmental development/planning agency after grad school.

Is the dual degree a good choice? I have also contemplated getting a MS Real Estate, but I feel that the scope of study in those programs might be a little too restrictive.

What are everyone's impressions of these dual programs? Are there certain professions that these degrees gear one towards/pigeon-hole one into?

Registered
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally posted by Mr. Shem
    I am currently waiting to hear from several different schools regarding applications for dual degree programs in business and planning. I have been working for several years at a small architecture/RE development firm in DC and would like to work as a project manager or for some quasi-governmental development/planning agency after grad school.

Is the dual degree a good choice? I have also contemplated getting a MS Real Estate, but I feel that the scope of study in those programs might be a little too restrictive.

What are everyone's impressions of these dual programs? Are there certain professions that these degrees gear one towards/pigeon-hole one into?
    I don't think the skill sets from each discipline are compatible. At least in the public sector I think a MPA (Public Admin.) would be more valuable. Even in real estate development/consulting I think a background in real estate, law, or public admin. in addition to a planning degree would be more valuable than an MBA. If you'd like to run a non-profit I would get a degree in non-profit management.