Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: "Work from home" and related signs in the ROW

Registered
    Mar 1996
    Blog entries

"Work from home" and related signs in the ROW

One thing I've noticed about Florida -- I've never seen so many signs in the public right-of-way as I have in the Orlando area. "Work From Home," "Lose 20 Pounds in 10 Days," that sort of thing -- on telephone poles, in median strips, everywhere.

The small town where I work as a planner has a "zero tolerance" policy for signage in the public right-of-way. The streets there were wonderfully devoid of signage, save the occaonal FSBO sign, until last weekend, when a bunch of "Erase Bad Credit" and "Lose Weight Fast" signs popped up. I've got most of 'em down, but some are up quite high -- we might have to get the bucket truck out to take care of 'em. I want to get them down fast, because such signs seem to breed like rabbits.

I'm wondering if anyone has had any success tracking down the folks responsible for posting these signs, or if anyone actually caught someone in the act of placing such a sign in the ROW.

Registered
    Feb 1998
    Dan,

Good luck. The 800 numbers go to some telemarketing farm. If they are dot.com's, I understand that you can try to track them down through

register.com
    opensrs.com
    networksolutions.com

I have never tried these, just got them from another bulletin board. We just take them down as soon as we find them, with notices in the newspaper and PA announcements. After several years, their use is slowing down.

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator NHPlanner's avatar
    Registered
    Apr 1996
    Dan

Thanks for getting back to me. Sign code enforcement was a big part of my job at the start of my planning career, but I never experienced the deluge of signs advertising questionalble enterprises.