Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Separating planning board into permitting and planning

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005

Separating planning board into permitting and planning

I am trying to come up with a method to separate the current Planning Board into 2 Boards, one for permitting, one for planning (comp plan, zoning wiritng, etc.)

Does anyone in here have this - how is it working for you? How is it staffed? What's the workload for each like? How often do they meet? Do you like it or hate it? Who appoints them?

anything anyone can give me would be great - thanks - links are great too to save you time -

I've never worked with it before so I am relying on other examples - personally, the thought of another group of people to staff myself is mind boggling but I'm open to comment -

sorry if you have had this thread before, I tried a search but it's a hard concept to look up

Registered
    Aug 1997
    Here in the Lone Star State of Texas, cities are permitted to have separate Planning and Zoning Commissions, basically divided as you said.

The Planning Commission would be responsible for the Comp Plan, master thoroughfare plan, etc. The Zoning Commission would do the zoning, site plans, etc.

However, MOST cities in Texas combine them into a single Planning & Zoning Commission that does everything. Thus, you'll hear Texas planners use the term "P&Z" to refer to their planning commission.
    JOE ILIFF

"Rarely do we find men who willingly engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think."
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

Registered
    Nov 2002

Burlington, VT