Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Similar to your spouse/S.O.?

Registered
    Sep 1999

Similar to your spouse/S.O.?

I was thinking about this tonight since my son and I are travelling to the panhandle for a long weekend, and meeting RJ's younger son. Beyond being Cyburbians and planners and being the same age, we have a lot in common: way we were raised, like cooking and cooking together, hanging out at the pool and reading all day, etc.

But there are a lot of dis-similarities as well. I've always thought it's important to have diverging hobbies. He can play golf with the guys, I can garage-sale with sisterceleste, etc.

LadyBuc and I have a (non-degreed) male co-worker who's our construction manager and married to an engineer (former co-worker). Women's magazines always say these unions are chancey since their backgrounds/educations are so dis-similar. But my dad was a lawyer and my mom a high-school grad and they had a great marriage, maybe it was different 50 years ago?

What say you Cyburbians?

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    my hubby has a gazillion hobbies - he restores clocks, takes care of plants inside and out (well, he's a landscape architect), plus he's a hunter gatherer type - tapping maple trees (they're running, the sap is great this year), hunts, berries, the whole gig - sort of a mountain renaissance man

I am not as into these things- my free time is usually either spent hiking or reading or baking

but after almost 19 years of marriage I think I can say that it's healthy to have some things to yourself, but the real important stuff (whatever important means to you) for us, is shared - we basically agree on child rearing, we love to travel and travel real well together, we have similar tastes, like the same kinds of people for the most part so most of our friendships are shared (but not all, and that's okay too)