Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Need solid arguments for smaller driveways.

Need solid arguments for smaller driveways.

I'm new in the planning field and just started working for a small town (5500). I am meeting with several local developers who want to build 30+ feet wide driveways. Basically coming straight off the three car garage to the street with 3 foot wings. I would gladly accept some reasons why this is not good for the community, public works, and developers (if there are any good reasons). I want to be well informed when I meet with them.

Currently our ordinance does not allow driveways wider than 24' in the right of way, because of 3' wings, they can expand to 30' at the street. But the past few years they have gotten away with wider driveways.

Thank you so much for any input.

Registered
    Sep 2001
    How wide is the typical lot in your community?

We have lots of people who want to widen their driveways, but disallow it as it takes up too much of the frontage of their lot to promote pedestrian usage of the sidewalks in front of their house.
    Too lazy to beat myself up for being to lazy to beat myself up for being too lazy to... well you get the point....

Registered
    Mar 2004
    Maybe I am just old, but are wing driveways the old school kind where you would had two narrow strips of concrete with either grass or stone in the middle?? I kind of miss those driveways. There were advantages to them in terms of permeability and water run-off.
    We hope for better things; it will arise from the ashes - Fr Gabriel Richard 1805

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Quote Originally posted by DetroitPlanner
    Maybe I am just old, but are wing driveways the old school kind where you would had two narrow strips of concrete with either grass or stone in the middle?? I kind of miss those driveways. There were advantages to them in terms of permeability and water run-off.