Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Help: career choice

Help: career choice

All,

I'm faced with a bitter sweet dilemma. A choice between two jobs..!! People would be happy to have one job offer (as I would too had I graduated 2 yrs back). Today the market is booming with new work and development in all corners. And hence the need for Planners. I have an architecture undergraduate with 2+ yrs of work exp. About to graduate from a good accredited planning program with courses in Land use, Real-estate and Urban-design.

offer1: from a large multi-national Architecture firm which has a planning dept also. Work involves masterplanning, street scapes, etc. extensive use of graphic presentation etc. I like the kind of work and the team. The pay is in mid 40s. That is the pay most people in my class are getting. However, I consider myself a little more experienced and would like a better pay.

offer2: from an even larger multi-national Engineering firm which has architecture-planning dept. work involves facility planning, graphic presentations, etc. Work environment is decent and team is good. the pay is in mid 50s. closer to the kind of pay I would like. The net difference in the two pay packages is 8K. Benefits are similar. Both positions are non exempt (ie eligible for overtime).

Any suggestions on which offer to take up and for what reasons. I don't know what value should I place on future prospects with a firm. Is it really true that most people keep changing jobs every 2 yrs. And are all your future pay packages dependent on your first pay?

need to make up my mind soon. Thanks.

Registered
    Jul 2003
    Quote Originally posted by ImPLANted
    And are all your future pay packages dependent on your first pay?