Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Economic development in a former small farm town/now bedroom community

Registered
    Apr 2004
    Blog entries

Economic development in a former small farm town/now bedroom community

Well, I had applied for a Planning Commissioner position in the small town where I reside. I did not get it; however, the town had phoned me this very morning saying they want me to serve on a new Economic Devlopment board. I said I would be very interested, but I have to admit: What the heck can we do?

Background: This town serves as a small bedroom community of new homes mainly priced from $150k-$900k. The business in the town include a bar, gas station (with new gas station being built), small strip commercial with a liquor store, pizza place, and salon; as well as a couple banks.
    Through the grapevine I have heard that we are trying to attract a small grocer, and maybe some other commercial. But that seems about it. I have no knowledge of a desire to attract industry/employment centers.

Where do I start?
    Are there any good references that can help?
    What sort of things would fit well in a town like this?

I see myself conducting a lot of surveys in the future...
    You get all squeezed up inside/Like the days were carved in stone/You get all wired up inside/And it's bad to be alone

You can go out, you can take a ride/And when you get out on your own/You get all smoothed out inside/And it's good to be alone
    -Peart

Registered
    Apr 2006
    Questions:

In terms of economic development do you know if the city is interested in larger development such as industry, or creating a retail/entertainment destination? I suppose if you are located near a large city the latter might fall flat because folks are most likely going to just drive into 'town'... but it's a possibility.