Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Development of park-land on existing open spaces

Registered
    May 2005
    Blog entries

Development of park-land on existing open spaces

Working as an intern, I recently was an integral part in helping try to develop an existing parcel of open land (donated by the developer) into a park.

We received a grant so we thought we'd use it to develop a park in a neighborhood that lacked one. It was nothing major...just a basketball shot-around, bocce ball area, gazebo, a few bike paths, and adding a few trees.

So we send the notices of our intentions to develop this land as a park to area residents. And what do we get? 95% of the people, very angry, not wanting it developed into parkland in any way. We have since decided to abandon the idea for now.

So how do you deal with this? Have you ever dealt with this? I can see people being pissed about a Wal-Mart going up in their backyard. But a few recreational amenities?!?!?!

I guess their loss, though, right?
    "Life's a journey, not a destination"
    -Steven Tyler

Registered
    Mar 2005
    I can think of a few reasons, trying to put msyelf in their place.

In some communities, basketball courts, etc. become gathering points for 'gangs' of teenagers that some people find threatening or noisy/boisterous.

Many people in the US seem to ascribe to the ideal that the 'perfect' home is one where they never see or hear anyone else. Again, this is partly due to breakdown in civility.

Maybe they fear extra traffic or construction noise or?

Lastly, many people see some value in 'unimproved' open land, as opposed to a landscaped park.
    Life and death of great pattern languages

Registered
    Dec 2001
    Public opinion/input is vital to the planning process. To some, and albeit alot I bet, a permanently preserved tract of land is more important than a park.

     
    Registered
    Aug 2005