Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Coastal development: carrying capacity?

Registered
    Jul 2006

Coastal development: carrying capacity?

Hi All:

I'm working on a coastal resort master plan (100 km sq), advocating low impact, eco-tourist site. Boss wants to know: How can max load be calculated. He wants DATA (!?!- this is China...).

Obvioulsy I am no engineer nor statistician, and he will not hire one... Is there any known way to calculate an ecological carrying capacity (the number of visitors or inhabitants an area can sustainably support)? I've got formulas and indices for land area alone, but not when in a sensitive environment - we have mangroves, mountians, rivers, marsh - everything.

Thanks for any help!

Registered
    Feb 2003
    Acquire aerial photos
    Roughly delineate wetlands and other sensitive areas on the photos. Use GIS.
    Apply riparian buffers along water courses
    Demarcate steep slopes
    Map trails, roads, and other utilities through the site
    Estimate buildable areas
    Apply your land values to the buildable areas

That's all I've got...good luck

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Feb 2004
    Yep, Plankton's got it. Map out the sensitive and unbuildable lands, eliminate those areas from the equation, and base your analysis on the buildable land, Indicate in your report why the lands were excluded. I would prioritize the sensitive lands, which ones are absolutely critical, which ones have so many environmental issues that they are unbuildable due to the role they play ecologically or if it is cost prohibitive, and indicate those area that may be buildable but have some issues (steep slopes, fault zones, etc) as alternatives in your report.

BANNED
    Registered
    Mar 2006

Environmental Design

Quote Originally posted by gege127
    Hi All: