Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Lot coverage ratio comparisons

Registered
    Jul 2006

Lot coverage ratio comparisons

My community just enacted a LCR ordinance which, in my opinion, is completely insane. I'm a novice, granted....so I want to get some input from real planners who know what they are doing.

It is my understanding that LCR's are, in and of themselves, somewhat controversial, but even putting that larger issue aside for now....I am curious to get your opinion as to how our ordinance compares to similar ordinances you have seen around the country.

Our new standard is a max of 18% lot coverage for 1 acre lot....which includes home, garages, driveway, sidewalks, decks, pools.....any and all impervious surfaces. The scale slides depending on lot size. Link to copy of ordinance is provided below.

Basic background: We are a rural community on well and septic. Lot sizes vary dramatically...from 5 acre estate lots with horses to 1/2 acre subdivision lots.

My opinion is that this is insanely strict. I've tried to compile all the examples of LCRs I can on-line, and ours seems out of whack. Plus, it seems of questionable necessity in general, given the fact that home owners in our community already have to reserve a great deal of open space for a septic field + a 100% expansion area in case of field failure. Plus required setbacks, etc.