Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: New planning student with new job concerns

New planning student with new job concerns

Hello all, Im new to the board, and generally new to Urban Planning. I am a disillusioned architecture student who is now beginning a new path towards urban planning, in which I've grown to be entusiastic and excited about.
    My biggest concern right now is starting a job (part time) that will allow me to begin accruing experience in planning and also allow for a slight learning curve, as I do not really have many technical skills yet. There are jobs for a part time code inspector, permit technician, and regular office assistant in a Building Department in a city close by. I guess Im not sure if Im reallly ready for the first two jobs, or if doing the office assistant job is just a waste of time. (I'm currently an office assistant on my campus).
    Would the code inspector or permit technician jobs really give me much valuable experience?
    Would it be better for me to wait for more classes ( which im stacked with this upcoming year)?
    Or should I wait until I can find an internship in a planning office?

Like I said, Im new to this whole thing, and these are just some of the first concerns I have.
    BTW, this board has been key in giving me insight into what the profession is really like and about, thanks

Registered
    Dec 1998
    Welcome to Cyburbia! Personally, I don't think that being a code inspector is going to give you the exposure or experience you'll need (or even want) in planning, but it also depends on the department. I'd wait for an internship in a planning office. Get involved with the local APA chapter and see if you can shadow a planner for a few days to see what it's like.
    "A witty woman is a treasure, a witty beauty is a power!"

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Quote Originally posted by Planderella