Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Are urban planning salaries growing at all?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2006

Are urban planning salaries growing at all?

I don't mean this question as a joke but I am curious. I forget but there was a website that said Urban Planners had a median salary of about $40,000 in 2000. In 2004, the median salary was around $53,000. Has the salary jumped within those four years? I am sure some of you know. I am still a student so that is why I am curious. Are salaries increasing or is it just wishful thinking?

Registered
    Nov 2002

Don't trust everything you read on the web

Quote Originally posted by lucifer
    I don't mean this question as a joke but I am curious. I forget but there was a website that said Urban Planners had a median salary of about $40,000 in 2000. In 2004, the median salary was around $53,000. Has the salary jumped within those four years? I am sure some of you know. I am still a student so that is why I am curious. Are salaries increasing or is it just wishful thinking?
    Its impossible to pick one number for a field as varied as planning. Geography and subfield make such a huge difference, as does even a little experience. Its fair to say that entry level planning jobs pay between $30-40K (a little less in some parts of the country) and that the highest paying jobs in the public sector top $100K after around 10-15 years experience. To go higher you would need to go private and/or go into development.

The other issue is quality of life. Planning jobs vary a great deal in terms of vacation time, etc.

Are they growing? A little bit bit not as much as the numbers you read.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    It all depends. For instance, look at the salaries in California. They look great. But then factor in the cost of housing....not so good. It all depends.....
    Annoyingly insensitive

Registered
    Aug 2001