Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Grad programme reputations - This is the right place for this question

Registered
    Jul 2006

Grad programme reputations - This is the right place for this question

Hi... I'm rather new to Planning and am actually switching from being a scientist in magnetics to Planning! I'm quite interested in post-disaster planning, particularly internationally. I posted this here because I'd like the perspective of folks already in the field, especially because they would make hiring decisions for entry level Master's grads.

I'd like to know whether I ought to attend schools that have a Master's programme with an international bend, or will a good planning programme provide me with avenues outside the local arena so I can intern/work with NGOs/UN/etc?

Particularly, I'm interested in recommendations for schools on the West Coast - CA, CO, TX, OR, WA, and any others I've missed. The mid-West is also a possibility, but not the East coast.

How would I do job-wise, if I attend Cal Poly Pomona or San Jose State? Obviously if I get into Berkeley I'd do okay. Any thoughts would be tremendously helpful, especially the SJSU question... my husband is taking a job in San Jose and it would be ideal. I want to start in Spring '07 and unfortunately Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo doesn't accept students for that term.

Thank you all!

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I really can't say that I know a good university for post disaster planning. From my work in that area, I would say that it helps to have a sound knowledge of municipal engineering. You don't need to be an engineer, just have a detailed understanding of infrastructure. Beyond that, I would think you are better off with the west coast schools - CA, OR, and WA - for access to NGOs and non-local contacts.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Registered
    Aug 2001

Registered
    Jul 2006