This is just a friendly reminder that the Iowa Chapter of the American
Planning Association is now accepting submissions for the 2006 Iowa
Awards for Planning. Awards are being accepted in seventeen planning
related categories, including Planning Excellence, Public Education,
Distinguished Leadership, Distinguished Service, Outstanding Students
and a Journalism award. The deadline for submission of the awards is
August 25, 2006, with presentation of the awards at the 2006 Iowa APA
Fall Conference scheduled for November 2-3, 2006 in Iowa City. Further
information on the awards program, including the Application Form, is
available at the Iowa APA website at www.iowa-apa.org
<http://www.iowa-apa.org/> .

As you're thinking about awards, you may also want to consider applying
for a National APA award. Currently, National APA is accepting entries
for their 2007 awards program with the deadline for most categories
being September 11, 2006. Additional information on their award program
is available at their website http://www.planning.org/awards/2007.htm.
The Iowa APA awards are based on the same framework as the national
awards so it should be very easy to make submissions to both the Chapter
and National chapters.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. I
apologize in advance if you receive this message more than once; please
feel free to share this information with others who may be interested.

Thank you,

David R. Wilwerding, AICP

Senior Planner

City of Johnston

Iowa APA Awards Chair

6221 Merle Hay Road; P.O. Box 410

Johnston, IA 50131

Phone: 515-727-7775 - Fax: 515-727-7776

dwilwerding (AT) ci (DOT) johnston.ia.us