Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: PUD applicability question

PUD applicability question

My supervisor does not have a planning background and she seems to think that PUD's are specifically for saving the developer money in the application process. Pay for one PUD instead of multiple variances, etc. I'm of the mindset that the PUD is a tool to offer developer some measure of flexibility in exchange for some measurable benefit to the development. HELP! How can I bring her around and start to put some teeth into how we apply this?

Yes, I'm a newer professional, and the only one with any planning training where I work.

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    PUD's can be great tools to look at a project as a whole - in the PUD I just put through here, it also includes incentives to get affordable housing, green housing and amenities as recreation space, open space and pedestrian/bike facilities - it's hard to do that kind of work with conventional zoning

the method your supervisor says developers are avoiding is a piecemeal method whereby the Boards just see pieces of the picture and not the whole picture until it gets constructed

PUD's also allow for negotiations with the developer which you can't really do in a variance deliberation

good luck - planning boss with no planning? you have my sympathies

Registered
    Jul 2006
    I searched the site but cannot find a good definition of PUD.

Help, please?

Maybe I'm missing the Planning Acronyms thread?

Thanks and sorry to lower the level of converstation.

Registered
    Mar 2005
    Quote Originally posted by bluehour
    I searched the site but cannot find a good definition of PUD. Help, please?