Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: PhD thesis on the history of planning?

Registered
    Aug 2006

PhD thesis on the history of planning?

Hi guys,

I'm a history/geography teacher doing a masters degree in planning, and am looking to go on to doing a PhD thesis.

Just wondering if anyone can think of a riveting topic for a thesis along some historical background, ie. changes as a result of the Great Fire of London, or the Black Death, or even as far back as the Roman Empire?

Anything that would be challenging and deep enough to write a whole thesis on would be great!

Many thanks in advance...

Rewey

Registered
    Apr 2003
    Someplace between yesterday and tomorrow.
    How planning as influenced and reacted to events that changed history.
    Not my monkey, not my circus. - Old Polish Proverb

NIMBY asshatterer Plus Richmond Jake's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2001
    Read The City in History by Lewis Mumford. Plenty of good ideas in there.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_City_in_History
    RJ is the KING of . The One

BANNED
    Registered
    Mar 2006

Research topics

Quote Originally posted by Rewey View post
    Hi guys,

I'm a history/geography teacher doing a masters degree in planning, and am looking to go on to doing a PhD thesis.

Just wondering if anyone can think of a riveting topic for a thesis along some historical background, ie. changes as a result of the Great Fire of London, or the Black De ath, or even as far back as the Roman Empire?

Anything that would be challenging and deep enough to write a whole thesis on would be great!

Rewey