Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Looking to get certified

Registered
    Aug 2006

Looking to get certified

Hi All!

I am new to Cyurbia. After reading through the posts, my head is racing. I obtained my Masters in Urban and Regional Planning in 1993. I have worked in the public sector at the State (Maryland) and Federal (HUD) level mainly doing grant and contract administration, but currently I am on a sabbatical (OK, I resigned to take time to raise my children). To make matters more interesting, I moved to Canada (Toronto area). Now, after 13 years, I am considering getting certified.

So many questions...
    Has anyone ever become certified after 10 years? If so, what was your study strategy?

Next, what is the difference between getting AICP certification (US) and OPPI/CIP (Canada)? Are they similarly valued? Does the US accept OPPI and visa versa?

Does anyone worked in the public sector in a non planning position with AICP certification? Did you find it difficult to justify two years work experience?

Well, that's enough questions to start with, I guess.

I will say that my first couple of years in Canada (2002-2003), I applied for planning positions and positions in municpal program administration, I could not get an interview. Many of the planning position specically required OPPI/CIP certification. I figure I might as well start working on getting certified, if I want to work in planning.

I am eagerly awaiting for your responses ...

Registered
    Sep 1999