Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Interview is tomorrow

Registered
    Oct 2005

Interview is tomorrow

I have an interview tomorrow for a planning gig that I really want to get. The job is in the private sector, they do everything planning, architecture, construction, etc. I currently work in the private sector (mainly project management and consulting). I could use all the help that I can get.

Here are my questions: What's the question(s) you've been asked that you weren't expecting and how did you handle it? And what are some good questions to ask your interviewers?

Quote Originally posted by high density View post
    I have an interview tomorrow for a planning gig that I really want to get. The job is in the private sector, they do everything planning, architecture, construction, etc. I currently work in the private sector (mainly project management and consulting). I could use all the help that I can get.

Here are my questions: What's the question(s) you've been asked that you weren't expecting and how did you handle it? And what are some good questions to ask your interviewers?
    Having 2 (public sector) interviews this year myself, I'd say make sure you are prepared for the in-situ questions like "What would you do if........." questions. Also, sharpen up on the projects you have listed on your resume and recent (major) projects you have worked on.
    Ask questions like, "What would a typical day consist of?", "How many hours/week would be expected of the position?" and "When will you expect to make a decision?" it is often overlooked by the employer, especially if they are impressed by your interview (so that is a good sign).
    Stay away from salary/benefit questions since this is a first interview, unless they push those issues. DO NOT COMMIT until the salary/benefits are weighed out on your end. Have a ballpark figure in mind and always ask for the upper end -if they are forward enough to ask - you can always backpedal.